Notice for Veterans and Widows

uncle-samMaynard’s Veterans’ Services Officer would like you to know that if you are an unmarried veteran, or un-remarried widow or widower of a veteran there may be state services that apply to you.

You may be entitled to REIMBURSEMENT OF YOUR MEDICAL EXPENSES*

IF: You are an unmarried veteran, or un-remarried widow or widower of a veteran with an income of less than $1,951.00 per month and combined assets of less than $5000.00 (with no whole life insurance policy;)

OR: You are a married veteran, or are married to a veteran, and your combined household income is less than $2,585.00 per month, with combined household assets of less than $9800.00 (with no whole life insurance policy.)

You may also be entitled to FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE*

IF: You are an unmarried senior citizen veteran, or un-remarried widow or widower of a veteran, with a monthly income less than $1,632.00 and combined assets less than $5000.00 (with no whole life insurance policy;)

OR: You are a married senior citizen veteran with a combined household income of less than $2155.00 per month and combined household assets of less than $9800.00 (with no whole life insurance policy.)

Note: The home you live in and one vehicle are not counted as assets.

*This is an entitlement of benefits based on your, or your spouse’s, military service.

Call the Veterans’ Services Officer at 978-897-1361 or your town hall to arrange an interview to see if you qualify for benefits.

The law requires the Veterans’ Services Officer take your application and forward it to the Massachusetts Department of Veterans’ Services.

If you need more information or cannot contact your Veterans’ Services Officer, please call the Massachusetts Department of Veterans’ Services at 617-210-5482.