Conservation Division

Address:195 Main Street
Maynard, MA 01754
Administration:Michèle Grenier, PWS, CWS
Conservation Administrator/Assistant Planner
Department Hours:Monday, Wednesday, Thursday: 8am to 4pm
Tuesday: 8am to 7pm
Friday: 8am to 12noon
All applications and forms must be submitted electronically as well as hard copy.


The Conservation Commission and Conservation Division’s Mission is to work to protect the natural resources of Maynard, the gems of green space that we too often take for granted, until they are threatened by development.

  • Administer the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act and Maynard Wetlands Bylaw
  • Undertake land acquisition
  • Undertake land management
  • Undertake public education and public participation
  • Administer the Maynard Stormwater Management Bylaw

About the Commission

The reason for the Commission’s existence: Open space pays

  • Open space protection saves the town money: development increases demands for schools, roads, water, and related infrastructure.
  • Open space increases the quality of life for all residents: a healthy environment provides clean water, clean air, recreation, increased property values, etc.
  • Open space provides biological diversity: otters, herons, rare species.

Who is on the Conservation Commission: Dedicated volunteers

  • Commission members: Jamie Bullis, M. John Dwyer,  and Ellen Greendale.

Contacting the Commission

  • For Conservation Commission matters please contact us at 978-897-1360 (email:
  • The office is also open from 3:30 to 6:30pm when the Commission meets.
  • All applications and forms must be submitted electronically as well as hard copy.

There are other many ways you can volunteer to help.  Look at these volunteer opportunities.


Commission Meetings / Events / Statements

The Commission meets the first and third Tuesdays of every month starting at 6:30 pm. Please call the office for information about our agenda.

Commission Meeting Minutes and Agendas

Public Hearing Schedule and Filing Deadlines

View the 2017 Hearing Schedule and Filing Deadlines

  • All dates subject to change.
  • All items required for a complete application must be submitted by 4:00 p.m. on the deadline day. No exceptions.
  • The timeline below represents the soonest an application may be heard by the Conservation Commission.
  • Depending on the number of applications, submitting by the deadline may not secure a place on the desired agenda.  Please note that all applications are reviewed on a first submittal basis and all applications will be reviewed within the statutory time requirements.
  • Any revised plans or additional submittals must be submitted to the Conservation Office and peer reviewer 10 days prior to a scheduled meeting.
Meeting DateTimeLocationApplication Deadline
January 36.30pmTown HallDecember 15, 2016
January 176.30pmTown HallDecember 27, 2016
February 76.30pmTown HallJanuary 17, 2017
February 216.30pmTown HallFebruary 1, 2017
March 76.30pmTown HallFebruary 16, 2017
March 216:30pmTown HallMarch 6, 2017
April 46.30pmTown HallMarch 15, 2017
April 186.30pmTown HallMarch 27, 2017
May 26.30pmTown HallApril 12, 2017
May 166.30pmTown HallMay 3, 2017
June 66.30pmTown HallMay 16, 2017
June 206.30pmTown HallMay 30, 2017
July 186.30pmTown HallJune 27, 2017
August 16.30pmTown HallJuly 10, 2017
August 156.30pmTown HallJuly 24, 2017
September 56.30pmTown HallAugust 14, 2017
September 196.30pmTown HallAugust 28, 2017
October 36.30pmTown HallSeptember 11, 2017
October 176.30pmTown HallSeptember 25, 2017
November 146.30pmTown HallOctober 24, 2017
December 56.30pmTown HallNovember 15, 2017
January 16, 20186.30pmTown HallDecember 20, 2017
February 2, 20186.30pmTown HallJanuary 12, 2018

Download a printable copy of this schedule.

Assabet River Rail Trail

For information about the Assabet River Rail Trail Project, including design specifications in Maynard, please visit the Assabet River Rail Trail Project page.



Jamie BullisChairman
M. John DwyerCommission member
Ellen GreendaleCommission member
(vacant)Commission member