Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Yes. By state law, Building Commissioners are required to have a badge in addition to any type of business card.
Show All Answers
No, we utilize the current edition of the Massachusetts State building code for one and two family dwellings, multi-family dwellings, and Commercial Buildings. There are no local building codes in Massachusetts.
Building permits provide the means for building officials to review and inspect safety, durability energy efficiency and therefore ensuring the public health, safety, and welfare. It also assures that contractors doing the work are licensed and insured.
When you do any structural work and or the following: reroofing, replacement windows, wood/pellet stoves, fireplaces, sheet metal work, demolition, solar panels, insulation decks, additions, some interior alterations, sheds, garages, swimming pools, stairways, fences over 7 feet in height and any new construction. This is not an all-inclusive list so if you are not sure, please call the office at 978-897-1302. A permit may not be necessary if it is considered an ordinary repair
The State Building Code defines ordinary repairs as "any maintenance which does not affect structure, egress, fire protection systems, fire ratings, energy conservation provisions, plumbing, sanitary, gas, electrical, or other utilities. This has been interpreted to mean that rotted floor boards can be replaced on a deck, but the deck can not be rebuilt without a permit. Also, damaged roof shingles can be repaired, but the entire roof cannot be re-shingled without a permit. If in doubt as to how much work can be done under ordinary repairs, contact the Building Department.
Yes. Any structure intended for swimming or recreational bathing that contains water over 24 inches deep requires a permit. All inground, above-ground, pools placed temporarily on the ground and with inflatable sides, hot tubs, and spas require a permit.
If you need to change or revise your plans after your permit has been issued, you must file an amendment (with the revised plans or a description of work to be changed), which must then be approve by the Building Commissioner. No additional fee is required unless the scope of the project is changed significantly.
Yes. Revised plans must be submitted prior to constructing the change. Also, an application for revised plans must be submitted and additional fees, if any, paid.
No, you cannot begin work until you have received a Building Permit.
Your Building Permit must be exercised (work begun) within 6 months after it is issued, and the work must continue without interruption. The Permit, with permission of the Building Department may be renewed for up to 6 months provided that the request to extend the permit is made before expiration. After that, if you have not started your work, your Permit will be considered abandoned and you will have to reapply.
Depending on the project there may be multiple inspections. Please download the inspection schedule sheet from the Building Department Web Page resources, or ask for a copy at the office.
When you have completed you project, you will need a Certificate of Occupancy or Use if:
Building Permits are issued to Construction Supervisors licensed by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Please note that there are also several specialty licenses. The state license is only valid for work involving structures less than 35,000 cubic feet, for one- and two-family dwellings. As an exception to this requirement, Building Permits are also issued to homeowners doing work on one- and two-family dwellings where they reside or intend to reside. It is noted that when homeowners are issued Building Permits, they are liable for contractors working on their property and they are not eligible for protection under the provisions of the Home Improvement Contractor Law. The Maynard Building Department encourages homeowners to have the Building Permit taken out by a licensed contractor.
Construction Supervisor Licenses (CSL) can be checked through the Department of Public Safety at: https://madpl.mylicense.com/Verification/
Home Improvement Contractor Registrations can be checked through the Office of Consumer Affairs at: https://services.oca.state.ma.us/hic/licenseelist.aspx
Any contractor doing work on an owner occupied building of 1 or 4 dwelling units must be registered as a Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) when the value of the work is over $1000. The (CSL) is similar to a drivers' license while the HIC is similar to a car registration, in that you cannot drive a car without both. The CSL applies to the individual while the HIC applies to the business.
The Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation (OCABR) regulates the registration of contractors performing Home Improvement contracting work on 1-4 Unit owner-occupied homes that are the primary residence. They also administer the HIC Arbitration program and the Guaranty Fund, and conduct enforcement through a Complaint Program.
Arbitration Program - to arbitrate disputes between contractors and homeowners.
Enforcement - accepts complaints from homeowners and conducts administrative enforcement hearings.
Guaranty Fund - a fund of last resort for homeowners that have obtained a court judgment against a contractor. Contractors are obligated to reimburse the Fund for the amount paid to the homeowner with any accrued interest. Failure to reimburse the Fund could result in the suspension, revocation or reprimand of the contractor's registration as well as other penalties.
The Massachusetts Architectural Access Board Rules and Regulations are part of the building code, and are enforced for new construction, alterations/remodeling and change of use in Public Buildings, and some Multi-family Dwellings.
One layer may remain
Typically the process is less than one week. The Massachusetts State Building Code has a maximum of 30 days in which to issue or deny a building permit application. The actual time can vary depending on other department's prior approvals and complete and accurate building plans and information.
Yes, if plans were submitted, a stamped "approved" site copy should be available at the time of inspection, as well as any structural calculations and energy code information. The Commonwealth of Massachusetts follows the 2009 IECC for REScheck. The Town of Maynard has adopted the Stretch Energy Code, and for all new construction a HERS® home energy rating is required.
If access to the new work requires an inspector to walk through your existing, furnished house, someone must be present to let the inspector in. The inspector will not enter an unoccupied furnished house. We also will not enter a house in which only a child is home, unaccompanied by an adult.
Contact the Building Commissioner, who is also the Zoning Enforcement officer.
If there are no zoning issues, notification of abutters is not required. If you would like to know what your neighbors are building, all building permit files are public record and can be viewed at the Office of Municipal Services. Records for an individual address can be provided over the phone by calling the office at (978) 897-1302.
You do not need a building permit. Please contact the Department of Public Works (DPW) at 978-897-1359 to apply for a "curb cut" permit, or to determine any other requirements they may have.
For projects that require the services of a professional architect or engineer throughout the entire process, the architect or engineer provides reports and affidavits claiming that the work meets the Massachusetts Building Code and requirements if necessary. This is required for 1 or 2 family dwellings larger than 35,000 cubic feet. More information is available here.
You may find a copy through the public library system.
The State Board of Building Regulations and Standards have a table of activities requiring (or not requiring) either a Construction Supervisor license of a Home improvement Contractor registration. Please visit https://www.mass.gov/orgs/board-of-building-regulations-and-standards.
You may visit the Office of Municipal Services at 195 Main Street with your questions; or call (978) 897-1302. Building permits are public record.
Not if it is on level ground. If your patio is more than 30 inches above grade, a guardrail is required.
All building permits are now processed online at https://permiteyes.net/maynard/building/user_logins.asp. If you need assistance, please visit the Office of Municipal Services at 195 Main Street, or call (978) 897-1302. We are here to help.
Payment must be made in full after the Building Commissioner has gone over your application and has assigned a fee. Payment can be made online by check (payable to Town of Maynard), money order, or credit card. You may also mail your payment to:
Maynard Town BuildingOffice of Municipal Services195 Main StreetMaynard, MA 01754
or come into the office to pay in person.
There is no specific size required however, it must be clear from the plans what work is being done and how it is being done. Plans should be to scale and legible. A title block giving the address of the project must be provided on all sheets. All areas addressed in the building code must be addressed on the plans. In general, plans for new construction should include floor plans, foundation plan, framing plans, sections and elevations. Simply adding a note to the plans that says "all work to comply with codes" is not sufficient. Remember--we can only review what is submitted to us. Therefore, the more complete that the plans are, the less likely that any problems will arise after construction.
Every application for commercial work must minimally include a Massachusetts Construction Supervisor. For projects involving 35,000 cubic feet of space or more, a Registered Design Professional who will provide oversight of the project through construction control is required.
By default, the work to a sprinkler system and fire alarm system requires a building permit. If your application does not include the necessary review of a system, plans, and oversight by a Registered Design Professional, then we expect a separate building permit application for that required work. In order to approve the first building permit, it must be made clear on the application or on an attached document that the fire protection work will be submitted by others. No Certificate of Occupancy will be granted until all work to the structure is complete and approved.
Once reviewed by all applicable staff, the permit will be promptly issued. We will contact the applicant if there are any outstanding items required to issue the permit. If you would like to check if the permit was issued, log in to your account at the online permit portal at: https://permiteyes.net/maynard/building/user_logins.asp, or call (978) 897-1302.
The requirements differ from project to project. Every project requires at least one inspection by our Building Commissioner. In the case of work under construction control the Registered Design Professional will be required to fulfill specific inspection requirements depending on the project. It is the applicant's responsibility to schedule all required inspections with the Building Commissioner.