Community Preservation Committee

The Community Preservation Committee generally meets on the 1st & 3rd Wednesday at 7:00pm in Room 101 of the Town Municipal Building, 195 Main Street. Notices for all meetings are posted at the Town Hall at least 48 hours prior to the scheduled meeting date. All meetings are open to the public.





Annual Public Hearing – Feb 26, 2020

Notice is hereby given that the Town of Maynard Community Preservation Committee (CPC) will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, February 26, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. at the Maynard Town Building, 195 Main St., Maynard, MA, Room 101 (lower level) pursuant to Town of Maynard General By-Laws, Chapter XI, Community Preservation Committee By-Law for the purpose of providing general information on the needs, possibilities and resources of the Town regarding community preservation as stipulated in said By-Law and to determine funding for this fiscal year.

The CPC seeks input from the public before making its decision on which proposals to recommend to Town Meeting for funding. A positive recommendation by the CPC will send proposal(s) to the 2020 Spring Town Meeting where voters will decide whether or not to fund the project(s) from the Town’s Community Preservation Fund.

September 2019:  The Maynard Community Preservation Committee is inviting Maynard residents to submit proposals for CPA funding. While submitting proposals please take notice of the important due dates:

Timeline of Dates for May 2020 Town Meeting — FY2020 CPA Proposals:

  • September 30, 2019 – Preliminary Applications Due
  • October 2, 2019 – Determine Eligibility
  • November 4, 2019 – Final Applications Due
  • November 6, 2019 – Begin Review Process
  • December 4, 2019 – Finalize Questions
  • January 8, 2020 – Meet with Applicants
  • January 22, 2020 – Meet with Applicants
  • February 5, 2020 – Discussion
  • February 26, 2020 – Public Hearing

FY20 Final Applications


About the Community Preservation Committee

The Community Preservation Committee (CPC) was formed in November 2006 after Maynard voters adopted the Community Preservation Act (CPA) at the 2006 Annual Town meeting in May and reaffirmed the adoption of the CPA in the town election which followed. The Community Preservation Committee is charged with studying the needs, possibilities and resources of Maynard regarding community preservation. Its members are representatives from other Maynard town boards or residents of the town.

The Community Preservation Committee oversees Maynard’s Community Preservation Fund, selects preservation projects and recommends selected projects to Town Meeting for funding. Preservation projects eligible for funding may include:

  • acquiring and preserving land for open space
  • acquiring, preserving and restoring historic resources, structures, artifacts and documents
  • acquiring, preserving and developing land for passive and active recreation
  • acquiring and developing community housing.

The CPC reviews project proposals received from other Town Boards, community groups and individuals. The CPC determines its annual priorities for project funding through careful review of existing development plans (e.g. 2006 Community Development and Implementation Committee Plan, 2006 Freedom’s Way Heritage Plan, Maynard’s Open Space Plan), through deliberations with other Town Boards, and through input from community members.

Preliminary projects selected for funding by the CPC are then brought to Maynard Town Meeting where a majority vote is required to approve expenditures from the Community Preservation Fund. (Amounts in the CPC fund are the result of a 1.5% property tax surcharge voted at the May 2006 Town Meeting, and matching state funds.) After approval of a project(s) by a Town Meeting vote, the Committee oversees expenditures of CPA funds by the project group sponsor, who is responsible for the implementation and completion of the approved project.

You can contact the committee via email at:


CPC Members

Name / Representing
John Dwyer, Chair, Conservation Commission
Rick Lefferts, Vice-Chair, member-at-large
(open),  Recreation Commission
Anna-Lisa McLaughlin, Clerk
Ellen Duggan, Historical Commission
Bill Cranshaw, Housing Authority
Randy James, Capital Planning Committee
Linde Ghere, member-at-large
Jon Lenicheck, member-at-large
Jim Coleman, member-at-large



Approved Grant Agreements

  • CH004-17 – Affordable Housing Trust
  • HR025-18 – Historic Properties Survey (MACRIS) Phase 3
  • REC032-18 – Fowler Field Renovation
  • REC033-18 – Glenwood Cemetery Pond Restoration