Green Communities Committee

Contact: (TBD)
Director of Public Works
Green Communities Committee Chair
Address: 195 Main Street
Maynard, MA 01754

About the Committee

The Green Communities Committee assists the Select Board and Town Administrator in developing programs and projects to foster energy conservation, energy efficiency, renewable energy generation and sustainability planning. The committee gathers, studies and evaluates information that will help determine various approaches for improving the energy efficiency of operating town, school buildings and vehicles. We also investigate alternatives for energy technologies and identify funding opportunities to help the Town achieve its energy and sustainability related goals.

Additionally, the Committee shall develop and recommend approaches for influencing the town residents and businesses to maximize their environmental sustainability through educational outreach, information programs and incentives.

[Read our full Mission Statement]


Green Community Designation

The Town of Maynard was awarded designation as a Green Community on December 20, 2011 by the Green Communities Division within the Commonwealth’s Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs.

With this designation, the Town of Maynard is considered an energy leader in Massachusetts. With funding through the Green Communities Designation and Grant Program, the Town can implement energy efficiency and renewable energy projects to further reduce its energy costs and improve our local environment.

The Town has been awarded a grant of $160,025 with the official designation.


Agendas, Minutes, and Notices

The Green Communities Committee normally meets at 8:30am on the 2nd Wednesday of each month in the training room at the Maynard Police Station (197 Main Street).



Marie Morando Admin Assistant, DPW/Clerk
Richard Asmann Building Commissioner
(TBD) Chair / DPW Director
Bill Nemser Planning Director
Megan Zammuto Assistant Town Administrator